Connect with us

News & Articles

Pakistani fans disappointed with inclusion of Waqar Younis, Wasim Akram in Asia Cup 2022 commentary panel

Pakistani fans disappointed with inclusion of Waqar Younis, Wasim Akram in Asia Cup 2022 commentary panel

Pakistan’s bowling duo of Wasim Akram and Waqar Younis, undoubtedly, was lethal of all times. It could have been loved by many for its terrific delivered and the number of wickets they shared together; however, their inclusion as the voice of cricket in the Asia Cup 2022 commentary panel is strongly condemned by the fans.

The broadcasters announced the Asia Cup 2022 commentary panel on Friday as the event kick starts on August 27th. According to details, Irfan Pathan, Sanjay Bangar, Jatin Sapru, Waqar Younis, Wasim Akram, Ravi Shastri, Gautam Gambhir, Russel Arnold, Deep Dasgupta, Scott Styris, Sanjay Manjrekar and Athar Ali Khan will be part of the commentary box.

All Indian commentators are part of the Hindi commentary, whereas Shastri, Pathan, Gupta, Manjrekar, and Gambhir will also have their voices in English commentary.

It must be noted that the ACC event will be played in T20 format this time. It was earlier scheduled to take place in Sri Lanka but following instability in economic and political conditions, it has been shifted to the UAE. The final of the event will be played on 11th September, whereas the opening match is scheduled between hosts Sri Lanka and Afghanistan at Dubai Cricket Stadium.

Asia Cup 2022 complete squads

Bangladesh: Shakib Al Hasan (Captain), Anamul Haque Bijoy, Mushfiqur Rahim, Afif Hossain, Musaddek Hossain Saikat, Mahmud Ullah, Shak Mahedi Hasan, Mohammad Shaif Uddin, Hasan Mahmud, Mustafizur Rahman, Nasum Ahmed, Shabbir Rahaman, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Nurul Hasan Sohan, Taskin Ahmed, Ebadot Hossain, Parvez Hossain Emon

India: Rohit Sharma (c), KL Rahul, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant, Ravichandran Ashwin, Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan, Deepak Hooda, Yuzvenndra Chahal, Ravindra Jadeja, Dinesh Karthik, Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ravi Bishnoi

Pakistan: Babar Azam (c), Mohammad Rizwan, Fakhar Zaman, Shadab Khan, Asif Ali, Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, Iftikhar Ahmed, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Naseem Shah, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Shahnawaz Dahani, Usman Qadir

Afghanistan: Mohammad Nabi (C), Najibullah Zadran (VC), Afsar Zazai (WK), Azmatullah Omarzai, Farid Ahmad Malik, Fazal Haq Farooqi, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Hazratullah Zazai, Ibrahim Zadran, Karim Janat, Mujib ur Rahman, Najibullah Zadran, Naveen ul Haq, Noor Ahmad, Rahmanullah Gurbaz (WK), Rashid Khan and Samiullah Shinwari.

Reserves: Nijat Masoud, Qais Ahmad, and Sharafuddin Ashraf

Sri Lanka are yet to name their squad.

See Asia Cup 2022 schedule here.

Also, see:

Here is why Pakistani cricketers are unlikely to play LLC 2

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

20 − one =


SportsTrends: Committed to promote Canadian sports, specially Cricket, from East Coast to West Coast across North America by covering Canadian domestic cricket on mainstream television. Recognizing domestic players, leagues, club cricket, non-registered clubs like street cricket, tape-ball.



Must See

    More in News & Articles